Meet the fascinating authors, screenwriters, TV writers, graphic novelists and poets who contributed insight and exercises to Now Write! Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror. 

Sample Exercises

When the World Turns to Shit, Why Should I Care? Character Arc in Dystopian Stories by Raymond Obstfeld (download now.)

The author of more than forty books of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry as well as more than a dozen screenplays, most of which have been optioned. He completed a YA novel The Time-Reaper’s Tattoo, Hallmark bought his script A Little Christmas Con and he contributed to the Veronica Mars reboot.

Read Raymond’s guest post: Poems That Move.

Surprise in the Twenty-Fourth Century by Scott Rubenstein (download now.)

Scott wrote thirty produced episodes for television including Star Trek: The New Generation, Cagney & Lacey, Hunter, MacGyver, Night Court, Nine to Five, and Diff’rent Strokes. Aside from also being a story editor on three shows, he executive produced the award-winning documentary NOT AFRAID TO LAUGH and the short film Peacock Blues for Showtime. He taught for ten years as an adjunct professor at California State University, Northridge and USC.

Make it Real by J. Michelle Newman (download now.)

J. Michelle Newman is a writer, editor and literary consultant with a background in strategic planning. She is shopping her first novel, A Deception of Crows, inspired by her wild adventures working in commercial real estate in the mysterious kingdom of Wall Street and beyond. Michelle is completing her first historical fantasy novel, Mistaken Knights, in addition to a collection of surreal short stories.

All Contributors – with site links if available:

Mario Acevedo   marioacevedo.com

James G. Anderson   stoneharp.com

Piers Anthony   hipiers.com

Steven Barnes   lifewrite.com

Aimee Bender   flammableskirt.com

Glenn Benest   glennbenest.com

Sabrina Benulis    Sabrina Benulis blogspot

Kate Bernheimer   Amazon page

Richard Bleiler   Amazon page

Peter Briggs   IMDB page

David Brin  davidbrin.com

Kealan Patrick Burke   kealanpatrickburke.com

Ramsey Campbell   ramseycampbell.com

Lillian Stewart Carl   lillianstewartcarl.com

Eric Stener Carlson   ericstenercarlson.com

Jeffrey A. Carver   starrigger.net

Simon Clark   nailedbytheheart.com

Christine Conradt   christineconradt.com

Sara B. Cooper   IMDB page

Edward DeGeorge  Amazon page

Pen Densham    ridingthealligator.com

Danika Dinsmore  danikadinsmore.com

Kim Dower   kimdowerpoetry.com

David Anthony Durham   davidanthonydurham.com

Eric Edson   thestorysolution.com

Harlan Ellison   harlanellison.com

Dana Fredsti   danafredsti.com

Brian James Freeman  brianjamesfreeman.com

Stacey Graham   staceyigraham.com

Lois Gresh   Amazon page

Xaque Gruber   xaquegruber.com

Sequoia Hamilton  website

Janice Hardy   janicehardy.com

Chris Howard   SaltwaterWitch.com

Kij Johnson   kijjohnson.com

Lisa Renee Jones   lisareneejones.com

Derek Taylor Kent   derektaylorkent.com

Jack Ketchum    jackketchum.net

Elizabeth Eve King    elizabetheveking.com

Nancy Kress   nancykress.com

Todd Klick  Amazon page

Jan Kozlowski    Amazon page

Jay Lake  jlake.com

Joe R. Lansdale   joerlansdale.com

Elliot Laurence   mindmavericks.org

Lance Mazmanian   mazmanian.net

Bruce McAllister  mcallisteroaching.com

Karen McCoy   kbmccoy.com

Douglas Mcgowan   etherealsequence.com

Vonda N. McIntyre   vondanmcintyre.net

Wendy Mewes   wendymewes.com

L.E. Modesitt Jr.   lemodesittjr.com

Jessica Page Morell   jessicamorrell.com

Lisa Morton   lisamorton.com

Gabrielle Moss   gabriellemoss.net

J. Michelle Newman site in progress

William F. Nolan   williamfnolan.com

Jody Lynn Nye   Amazon page

Raymond Obstfeld   IMDB page

Reggie Oliver   Amazon page

Derrick Pete   IMDB page

Diana Peterfreund   dianapeterfreund.com

Michael Reaves   IMDB page

Rainbow Reed   Amazon page

Nicholas Royle   nightjarpress.weebly.com

Devorah Cutler-Rubenstein   thescriptbroker.com

Scott Rubenstein   IMDB page

Steven Saus    stevensaus.com

Brad Schreiber   bradschreiber.com

Melissa Scott   mescott.livejournal.com

Michael Dillon Scott   dillonscott.com

Sharon Scott  

Mark Sebanc   stoneharp.com

Jule Selbo, PhD   juleselbo.com

Mark Sevi   marksevi.com

John Shirley   john-shirley.com

John Skipp   Facebook page

Ben Thompson  badassoftheweek.com

Diego Valenzuela   diegovalenzuela.com

Vanessa Vaughn   vanessa-vaughn.com

Jeremy Wagner    jeremy-wagner.com

Vincent M. Wales    vincentmwales.com

James Wanless, PhD   voyagertarot.com

Brianna Winner   thewinnertwins.com

Brittany Winner   thewinnertwins.com

Marc Zicree   marczicree.com